About Smart+ Bid Protection (Full Cycle) for App Promotion (TikTok Minis)

Last updated: May 2026

Eligibility criteria

To qualify for the Incentive, your campaign must meet the following criteria.

Category

Requirement

Campaign type

Smart+

Objectives

App Promotion (Android or iOS Advanced Dedicated Campaigns) for TikTok Minis

Bidding Strategy

Day0 tROAS

Regions

Global, as indicated on TikTok Ads Manager

Duration

Coverage period is every day after the first impression

Conversion volume

TikTok Mini Series: The ad group must achieve at least 5 conversions daily (Purchase).


TikTok Mini Games: The ad group must achieve at least 500 conversions daily (Ad impressions).

Performance thresholds

Target ROAS ad groups: Eligible if the billing ratio is more than 1.2 times of your target spend, based on your minimum ROAS bid daily.

Disqualification/ Ineligibility

General If any of these actions ("Negative operations") occur at the adgroup level, no compensation will be provided for that day.

- Pausing or deleting the campaign

- All campaign creatives rejected

- Insufficient account balance

- Risk control issues encountered

- Account suspension or block

- Any of the following budget adjustments: Decrease in campaign budget, decrease in ad group budget, any adjustment of ad group min. budget


Mini Games

>2 manual modifications of bid


Mini Series

Any manual bid modifications

Terms & Conditions

Campaigns or ad groups must not violate TikTok's Commercial Terms of Service, Advertising Terms, Advertising Policies, Community Guidelines, Branded Content Policy, and any other applicable terms. TikTok reserves the right to determine eligibility, issue ad credits at its discretion, or withdraw the Incentive at any time.


How the incentive amount is calculated

With CBO soon supporting different ad-group bid amounts, incentive calculation will shift to ad-group level for App & Lead objectives. Incentives for Sales objective remain at campaign level.

Campaign Type / Flow

Objective

Calculated at Ad Group Level

Calculated at Campaign Level

CBO: Smart+

App

No

Yes

Non-CBO (All flows)

All objectives

Yes

No

Incentive calculation will be based on the payout period (i.e. Every single day that the campaign is online).

Bidding Strategy

Formula

Example

Cost Cap

TikTok will provide ad credits equivalent to the difference between actual CPA and the advertiser's Cost Cap bid.

Budget consumed - CC bid *1.2*Conversions

Highest CPA bid: $10


Actual budget consumed: $500


Conversions: 25


Billing ratio: $500/($10*25) = 2


Ad credit: $500 - ($10*1.2*25) = $200

Minimum ROAS/ Target ROAS

Mini-games/ Mini-series only

If your actual ROAS is lower than your target, TikTok covers the extra cost beyond what would have been needed to meet the target minimum ROAS.


Note: If you change your bid mid-flight, the incentive will be calculated using the new, less strict bid (e.g., raising CPA from $10 to $20 means $20 will apply).

Actual Spend - Expected Spend


Expected spend = Conversion value/ROAS bid


Conversion value:

- Mini-Series: D0 purchase value

- Mini-Game: D0 ad revenue


Billing ratio > 1.2

Lowest ROAS bid: 0.8


Conversion value: $60


Actual Spend: $100 (ROAS 0.6)


Expected Spend: $60 / 0.8 = $75


Billing ratio: $100/$75 = 1.3


Ad credit: $100 - $75 = $25